top of page

Wall of Writers: Part 8, Sharron Creech

Updated: Dec 12, 2018

“All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness. So that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” -2 Timothy 3:16-17







During the Summertime

When the days are much too

Hot (at noon, you know), for weeding

And I stay inside

Remembering the way my

Mama would always let me

Read on the couch

In my pajamas

(Bare feet in the warm carpet, I remember it well)

No matter how busy we were,

Homeschoolers, We,

When there was only a few chapters left,

She understood

The importance of

Finishing.


One day, a book

Had appeared

White and shining one Summertime

Morning

Waiting for me to discover its

Treasures within.

Sharron Creech was the key

To a different way of reading

A new way of writing

A novel way of telling a story.

My Mama

Offered

The love of reading

Without which

I would not be

Where I am

Today.


Sometimes,

It’s the words we don’t say

The words that aren’t written,

The words we learn to

Let go of

(No matter how comfortable we were with them)

Or,

The words we didn’t think

Would be worth

Saying

That are the most important.

Use kindness with your words

Choose them wisely.

It may not seem like it,

But each of us have been given

A limited supply

Of words left

To use.

Let them be good ones.

Worthwhile words.

Thoughtful words.

Magnificent

Words.


bottom of page